WCP2023 International Scientific Committee

The WCP2023 International Scientific Committee has been established to oversee the delivery of high-quality scientific content for WCP2023, using resources provided by the British Pharmacological Society (BPS) who hosted the event on behalf of IUPHAR.  The committee provides scientific expertise in the planning of the congress by reviewing and resourcing content, including session submissions, speakers and abstracts.

Professor David Webb

David Webb

Christison Chair of Therapeutics and Clinical Pharmacology, University of Edinburgh; WCP2023 President

Professor Amrita Ahluwalia

Amrita Ahluwalia

Professor of Vascular Pharmacology, Co-Director of The William Harvey Research Institute, Queen Mary University of London; WCP2023 Secretary-General

Professor Karen Barnes

Karen Barnes

Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, University of Cape Town; Founding Director of MRC Collaborating Centre for Optimising Antimalarial Therapy (CCOAT); Director of Pharmacology, Worldwide Antimalarial Resistance Network (WWARN)

Professor Ingolf Cascorbi

Ingolf Cascorbi

Professor of Pharmacology, University of Kiel; President of the International Union for Basic and Clinical Pharmacology (IUPHAR)

Professor Sir Mark Caulfield

Mark Caulfield

Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, Co-Director of The William Harvey Research Institute; Queen Mary University of London; Chief Scientist for Genomics England; President-elect of the British Pharmacological Society

Professor Arthur Christopoulos

Arthur Christopoulos

Professor of Analytical Pharmacology and Dean, Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, Monash University

Dr. Garret A FitzGerald

Garret FitzGerald

Professor of Systems Pharmacology and Translational Therapeutics, University of Pennsylvania; Director, Institute for Translational Medicine and Therapeutics (ITMAT)

Professor Kathleen M. Giacomini

Kathy Giacomini

Professor of Bioengineering and Therapeutic Sciences, University of California, San Francisco

Dr Karen Gregory

Karen Gregory

Australian Research Council Future Fellow; Monash University

Dr Clare Guilding

Clare Guilding

Dean of Academic Affairs, Newcastle University Medicine Malaysia

Professor Alberto Mantovani

Alberto Mantovani

Professor of Pathology, State University of Milan; Scientific Director, Istituto Clinico Humanitas, Institute for Research, Hospitalisation and Health Care (IRCCS)

Professor Shuh Narumiya

Shuh Narumiya

Professor and Director, Medical Innovation Center, Kyoto University; WCP2018 Past-President

Professor Daniele Piomelli

Professor Daniele Piomelli

Professor of Anatomy & Neurobiology, School of Medicine, University of California Irvine, Center for the Neurobiology of Learning and Memory (CNLM)

Professor Duncan Richards

Duncan Richards

Climax Professor of Clinical Therapeutics, University of Oxford; Director of the Oxford Clinical Trials Research Unit (OCTRU)

Professor Caroline Samer

Caroline Samer

Professor of Clinical Pharmacology and Toxicology, Faculty of Medicine, University of Geneva; Head of the Pharmacogenetics and Personalized Therapy Unit, Geneva University Hospitals (HUG); Chair of the Clinical division of the International Union for Basic and Clinical Pharmacology (IUPHAR)

Professor Arun Shukla

Arun Shukla

Associate Professor & Joy Gill Chair, Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur; EMBO Young Investigator; Senior Fellow, DBT Wellcome Trust India Alliance

Dr Janet Woodcock

Dr Janet Woodcock

Principal Deputy Commissioner at the Food and Drug Administration (FDA)

Professor Mauro Teixeira

Mauro Teixeira

Professor of Immunology, Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais

Professor Baofeng Yang

Baofeng Yang

Professor & Director of Department of Pharmacology, Harbin Medical University; Board Chairman, Chinese Cardiovascular Pharmacologic Society; Vice President, Chinese Medical Association