Date: 2–7 July 2023

Location: Scottish Event Campus (SEC), Exhibition Way, Glasgow, Scotland. G3 8YW

Accommodation partners: Glasgow Convention Bureau

Congress organisers: The British Pharmacological Society

Congress President: Professor David Webb
Congress Secretary-General: Professor Amrita Ahluwalia

Professor David Webb

David is a clinical pharmacologist who undertakes translational research in pursuit of developing safe and effective medicines for hypertension and kidney disease and who holds the Christison Chair of Therapeutics and Clinical Pharmacology at the University of Edinburgh. He runs Edinburgh’s Hypertension Excellence Centre and leads the Hypertension and Renal Theme of Edinburgh University’s Centre for Cardiovascular Science, which he established.

David is a Fellow of the UK Academy of Medical Sciences and Royal Society of Edinburgh. He has been President of the Scottish Society of Physicians and British Pharmacological Society, Honorary President of EACPT, and Chair of the Clinical Division of IUPHAR. He was appointed Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) in the 2020 Queen’s Birthday Honours List.

Professor Amrita Ahluwalia

Amrita is Professor of Vascular Pharmacology and Director of The William Harvey Research Institute at Barts Medical School at Queen Mary University of London.

Amrita‘s research focuses on identifying strategies that might improve vascular and cardiac function in cardiovascular disease. She is a committed champion of equality in the workplace and has participated in numerous initiatives, including with the British Pharmacological Society.