Keynote Speakers

The World Congress of Basic and Clinical Pharmacology (WCP2023) will feature a selection of guest speakers from across the world who specialise in different areas of basic and clinical and pharmacology. Find out about our keynote speakers by reading below, or view our programme to see a full list of speakers and sessions.

Watch interviews with some of the keynote speakers.

This page will continue to be updated as we confirm more keynote speakers.

Professor Katrin Amunts

Katrin Amunts

Director of the Vogt Institute for Brain Research at the University of Düsseldorf, Germany

Professor Ed Bullmore

Ed Bullmore

Head of Psychiatry at the Behavioural and Clinical Neuroscience Institute, University of Cambridge

Professor Sir Mark Caulfield

Mark Caulfield

Co-Director of the The William Harvey Research Institute, Professor of Clinical Pharmacology at Barts and The London School of Medicine and Dentistry

Professor Arthur Christopoulos

Arthur Christopoulos

Professor of Analytical Pharmacology and Dean of the Faculty of Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences at Monash University

Professor Dame Sally Davies

Sally Davies

UK Government Special Envoy on Antimicrobial Resistance

Professor Sir Marc Feldmann

Marc Feldmann

Emeritus Professor at the Kennedy Institute of Rheumatology, University of Oxford, Winner of the 2020 Tang Prize in Biopharmeceutical Science

Professor Garret A. FitzGerald

Garret FitzGerald

Professor of Systems Pharmacology and Translational Therapeutics, University of Pennsylvania; Director, Institute for Translational Medicine and Therapeutics (ITMAT)

Professor Kathy Giacomini

Kathy Giacomini

Professor in the School of Pharmacy at the University of California

Professor David E. Gloriam

Professor David E. Gloriam

Professor in Computational Receptor Biology at the University of Copenhagen

Professor Joan Heller Brown

Joan Heller Brown

Distinguished Professor and Chair of the Department of Pharmacology at UC San Diego School of Medicine

Professor Huang Yu

Huang Yu

Professor of Biomedical Sciences and Director of Heart and Vascular Institute (Basic Sciences) at Chinese University of Hong Kong

Professor Brian Kobilka

Brian Kobilka

Professor of Molecular and Cellular Physiology, and Hélène Irwin Fagan Chair in Cardiology, Stanford University School of Medicine

Professor Sir Martin Landray

Martin Landray

Professor of Medicine and Epidemiology at the University of Oxford; Science Priority Lead for Clinical Trials at Health Data Research UK (HDR UK); Co-Chief Investigator of the RECOVERY trial

Professor John McMurray

John McMurray

Professor of Medical Cardiology and Deputy Director of the Institute of Cardiovascular and Medical Sciences at the University of Glasgow, UK and honorary Consultant Cardiologist at the Queen Elizabeth University Hospital, Glasgow

Professor Christine Mummery

Christine Mummery

Chair of Developmental Biology at Leiden University Medical Centre, Guest Professor at the Technical University of Twente, Co-founder of the European Organ on Chip Society and the Human Disease Modelling Technology, President of the International Society for Stem Cell Research (ISSCR)

Professor Klaus Pantel

Professor Klaus Pantel

Chairman of the Institute of Tumour Biology at the University Medical Centre Hamburg-Eppendorf; Founder of the European Liquid Biopsy Society (ELBS)

Professor Sir Munir Pirmohamed

Munir Pirmohamed

David Weatherall Chair in Medicine at the University of Liverpool, Consultant Physician at the Royal Liverpool University Hospital, Director of the MRC Centre for Drug Safety Sciences, Director of the Wolfson Centre for Personalised Medicine, President of British Pharmacological Society

Sir Mene Pangalos

Mene Pangalos

Executive Vice-President, BioPharmaceuticals at AstraZeneca

Professor Sir Andrew Pollard

Andrew Pollard

Professor of Paediatric Infection and Immunity at the University of Oxford, Honorary Consultant Paediatrician at Oxford Children’s Hospital, Vice Master of St Cross College, University of Oxford

Professor Eran Segal

Eran Segal

Professor at the Department of Computer Science and Applied Mathematics at the Weizmann Institute of Science

Michael Sofia

Michael Sofia

Co-founder and Chief Scientific Officer of Arbutus Biopharma, Inc.

Professor Sarah Tabrizi

Sarah Tabrizi

Director of the UCL Huntington’s Disease (HD) Centre, Joint Head of Department Neurodegenerative Disease at the UCL Queen Square Institute of Neurology

Professor Sir Patrick Vallance

Patrick Vallance

Government Chief Scientific Adviser, Head of Government Science and Engineering Profession

Sir Gregory Winter

Sir Gregory Winter

Non-executive Director of Bicycle Therapeutics; Trustee of the Newton Trust and the Kennedy Trust for Rheumatology Research

Professor Clifford Woolf

Clifford Woolf

Director of the F. M. Kirby Neurobiology Center at Boston Children’s Hospital, Professor of Neurology/Neurobiology at Harvard Medical School

Professor Masashi Yanagisawa

Masashi Yanagisawa

Director and Professor of the World Premier International Research Center Initiative (WPI), International Institute for Integrative Sleep Medicine (IIIS), University of Tsukuba