The British Pharmacological Society hosted the 19th World Congress of Basic and Clinical Pharmacology on behalf of the International Union and Basic and Clinical Pharmacology (IUPHAR) in Glasgow, Scotland from 2 – 7 July 2023.

The call for abstracts for WCP2023 resulted in over 1,500 abstracts being submitted from 83 countries. The abstracts selected to be presented as either oral communications or posters at the congress can all be read in Volume 180, Issue S1 of the British Journal of Pharmacology: Abstracts of the 19th World Congress of Basic & Clinical Pharmacology 2023. The panel of 90 reviewers selected over 1,100 to be presented as posters throughout the six-day Congress. The 30 on-site judges reviewed the shortlisted posters and were all very impressed by the quality of work presented. The prizes were first announced at WCP2023 on Friday 7 July 2023, and were presented by the WCP2023 Secretary-General, Professor Amrita Ahluwalia.

We would like to thank everyone who submitted an abstract and presented a poster. Please join us congratulating the following winners and runners-up of the WCP2023 Poster Prizes:

Cancer Poster Prize

Maria Francesca Nani.png
Winner: Maria-Francesca Nanì, Università degli Studi di Napoli Federico II, Italy
‘Pharmacological targeting of NAPE-PLD impacts obesity associated colon cancer ‘

Runner-up: Yasmine Amin, USA
‘Simvastatin suppresses the in vitro proliferation of cholesterol-enriched MCF-7 cells along with tumor growth in an in vivo model of breast cancer’

Cardiovascular Poster Prize

Nicki Dyson.jpg
Winner: Nicki Dyson, Queen Mary University of London, UK

Nadine Godsman.jpg
Runner-up: Dr Nadine Godsman, Robert Gordon University, UK

Clinical Pharmacology Poster Prize

Winner: Ting Yang, School Of Pharmaceutical Sciences at Sun Yat-sen Uninversity, China

Emma Magavern.jpg
Runner-up: Dr Emma Magavern, William Harvey Research Institute at Queen Mary University of London, UK

Drug Discovery/Development Poster Prize

Winner: Carlos Villarroel, Institute Of Health Research-incliva at Hospital Clínico Universitario De Valencia, Spain

Education Poster Prize

Nilushi Karunaratne.jpg
Winner: Dr Nilushi Karunaratne, Monash University, Australia

GPCRs Poster Prize

Elaine Duncan.jpg
Winner: Elaine Duncan, University of Glasgow, UK

Marwa Kenawy.jpg
Runner-up: Marwa Kenawy, University of Glasgow, UK

Inflammation, Immunology & Infection Poster Prize

Andrew Thorne, University Of Calgary.jpg
Winner: Andrew Thorne, University Of Calgary, Canada

Runner-up: Dr Reya Shah, St George’s University London, UK

Natural products Poster Prize

Michael Ofori.jpg
Winner: Michael Ofori, Dr Hilla Limann Technical University, Ghana

Neuropharmacology Poster Prize

Manan Bhatt.jpg
Winner: Manan Bhatt, University Of Insubria, Italy

Nairong Liu.jpg
Runner-up: Miss Nairong Liu, University of Bath, UK

Other Poster Prize

Winner: Dr Simone De Luca, RMIT University, Australia

Runner-up: Dr Krisztina Pohóczky, Faculty Of Pharmacy Department Of Pharmacology at University Of Pécs, Hungary

Pharmacogenomics Poster Prize

Dr Rossana Roncato.jpg
Winner: Dr Rossana Roncato, Experimental and Clinical Pharmacology at Centro di Riferimento Oncologico di Aviano (CRO) IRCCS, Italy

Abdullah Rahail N Al Matrafi.jpg
Runner-up: Abdullah Rahail N Al Matrafi, University Of Dundee, UK

Safety Toxicology Poster Prize

Dr Qingfeng He.jpg
Winner: Dr Qingfeng He, Fudan University, Shanghai

PP slide 1920 x 1080(34) 1.png
We hope you can join us at the next British Pharmacological Society annual meeting, Pharmacology 2024, taking place in Harrogate from 10 – 12 December 2024. Register your interest and we’ll let you know when you can submit poster and oral abstracts for the meeting, as well as when registration and symposia submissions open.

WCP2026 slide.png
Make sure you also register your interest for the 20th World Congress of Basic and Clinical Pharmacology (WCP2026), hosted in Melbourne, Australia by ASCEPT in 2026.

For the most up-to-date information about pharmacology-related events, visit the British Pharmacological Society’s events calendar and sign-up to their Meeting Updates mailing list.

Read BPS President, Professor Clive Page’s, blog where he reflects on WCP2023.